What’s the difference between a buffalo and a bison?

You can’t wash your hands in a buffalo.

Having said that, I haven’t actually tried. I have tried these though:

See, there is some relevance to my very crap jokes :-)

I couldn’t resist the meatballs… but I should have done really. They were all right but nothing to shout about – and the smell in the kitchen afterwards… now I know why I don’t cook meat that much!

Some better buys include these:

Five pink lady apples for £1 at the market and cashew Nakd bars for 37p in Asda. No nasty meat smells with those :-)

And some Almond Breeze, at £1 in Tesco. First time I’ve tried almond milk and I really liked it, used to soak oats overnight with strawberries (also a bargain) and blueberries:

I also like the fact it’s unsweetened, unlike some brands whose first ingredient is sugar…. naming no names, of course :-)

And these, which I spotted at £1 in Tesco:

Although those I sort of wish I hadn’t got for such a bargain price. They’re delicious (they remind me of soft 9Bars) and filling – and £2.70 when they’re not on offer. Balls.

Bargain-finding and buffalo meat aside, it’s been a long week. Plus the very weird fact that I put my blue box of recycling out on Wednesday for collection and when I got home, it had gone. Not just the paper, tins and glass, but the whole box. No idea.

But to make up for work and weirdness, I’m going to spend tomorrow riding, meeting a friend for lunch… and making a white chocolate mousse cake for a colleague’s birthday… :-)

Hope everyone’s having a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to What’s the difference between a buffalo and a bison?

  1. Kailey says:

    I’ll admit that I do love me some chicken/salmon but I hate the smell that lingers afterwards – its horrible!! I am dying to find those naked bars – the cashew flavor sounds great!

  2. Jessica says:

    That’s such a great deal on the Nakd bars!

    Eh, my Dad is a bit of a meat-a-holic so I’ve just had to get used to the smell of (red, especially) meat cooking. For his health he has cut down a lot though, and he eats a lot more white fish now which is mercifully odourless.

    I’ve seen those flapjacks in my local Tesco, but thankfully they were full price (had I bought some, the whole box would be gone in a flash!)

    xxx

    • I know, result! It was only for one day though, then on the pecan ones the next day, weird,…
      I don’t really cook meat much and that smell was more than enough to put me off cooking it more! I think I’d have definitely been better off not getting that bargain on the flapjacks because they did, er, vanish failrly quickly – and they’re so expensive! xx

  3. emma says:

    I keep seeing the Almond Milk all over blogs and sadly my poor Morrisons doesn’t sell it! Boo. I need to pluck up the courage and drive to a big Tescos to try some.
    Your veggie bake looks delicious, I haven’t had anything like that in a long time. Yum!

  4. Ewww bison!!! haha

    I’m SO jealous of you and your nakd bars! Why don’t they sell them in the states?! They’re so good!

  5. I’ve been wanting to try both in burger form. I bet they’re both delicious!

  6. Haven’t tried the cashew cookie bar, but it sounds wonderful! I love Almond breeze, especially in my overnight oats. That is so funny about the recycling and sadly sounds like the things that happen to me! Enjoy your day…riding…sometime before I’m too old, I’m going to ride!! When we get to New Mexico…it’s going to be me and a horsey…of course I’ll probably hurt myself and the horse. Horses fascinate me. Have a great day!!

    • You’ll love it! You’re far from being too old; I hope you get to do it as soon as you get there.
      the cashew Nakds are definitely my favourite, although the gingerbread ones come a close second… and no sign of the blue box but I’m glad it’s not just me :-)

  7. We made bison burgers last week–my BF really loved them–I thought they tasted too gamey.

  8. The smell of meat cooking now makes me want to hurl, its strange considering I used to quite happily eat it! Those bars sound lush too!

  9. Perhaps your box floated away?
    I don’t like the smell of meat cooking- the worst is steak but Andy saves that for when I am out. I don’t like smelling cold meat (like when he has cooked a chilli and when it has cooled puts it in boxes to be frozen)- for some reason it seems to smell more like that I think.
    Those flapjacks look lovely.

    • Haha, yes, I wouldn’t be surprised with this fecking awful weather :-)
      I don’t mind the smell of cold meat but it was just hideous cooking, even when I came back home the next day!

  10. Such a fabulous deal on the Nakd bars. I don’t eat meat at all now but still cook it for Alfie, but the smell doesn’t bother me.

  11. Dannii says:

    Nakd bars are 37p at Asda? I am there as soon as they open tomorrow!!
    I got that deal on almond breeze too – but the one I got was sweetened with raw cane sugar.

  12. Wow-those Nakd bars for so cheap. Holy smee-such a deal. I used to live in Europe and those were one of my favorites. I def wish we had them in the states but as is life. PS: Glad I found your blog and can’t wait to read more!

  13. Glad you gave almond milk a go! It’s my absolute favorite “milk” out there. And looking forward to seeing this cake, it sounds deluxe!

    • It might have looked deluxe but it definitely wasn’t my favourite! not one to do again… I do love the almond milk though and glad it’s finally cheap enough for me to give it a go :-)

  14. Errign says:

    Almond milk is definitely my favorite nut milk – I find it to be the most versatile!

Thank you for commenting!

