Appreciation – and a winner

Urgh, time vanishing syndrome again… I think I can safely say that if I could pick a super power, teleportation would definitely be it; think about how much time you’d save – not to mention petrol.

Notice I say “I think” as if I haven’t given it serious consideration on more than one occasion… :-)

I’ve been meaning to do a post like this for ages, ever since lovely Jess tagged me in this award:

I appreciate every single reader I’ve got so it’s perfect, thank you Jess! The rules are:

Include the logo somewhere in your blog. Answer these 10 questions, then nominate blogs you enjoy.

What is your favourite color? 

When I was at nursery school, all the other girls said their favourite colour was pink. So I declared, and stuck to the fact, that my favourite colours were black and blue. Clearly, I was a stubborn little madam even then.

What is your favourite animal? 

This poem, by Ronald Duncan, sums it up. It’s always read at the end of the Horse of the Year Show – and it always makes me go cold – beautiful.

Where in this wide world can man find nobility without pride,

Friendship without envy, Or beauty without vanity?

 Here, where grace is served with muscle And strength by gentleness confined

He serves without servility; he has fought without enmity. There is nothing so powerful, nothing less violent.

There is nothing so quick, nothing more patient. England’s past has been borne on his back.

All our history is in his industry. We are his heirs, he our inheritance – the horse.

What is your favourite non alcoholic drink?

Does Pimm’s count? Probably not :-)

In that case, it’d have to be tea, coffee and sugar-free lemon squash, all in copious and no doubt unhealthy quantities.

Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

Both, just to be awkward! I like Facebook for sharing pictures, sending messages, etc, although I can’t stand the new Timelines, and Twitter for random comments and conversations.

What is your favourite pattern? 

Errr….. can’t say I’ve ever given that any thought. If the question had been on my preferred super power instead, I could give an answer…. probably :-)

What is your favourite number?

Eighty-seven thousand, nine hundred and fifty-two. And a half.

What is your favourite day of the week? 

Saturday – what’s not to like?!

What is your favourite flower? 

I love orchids, because they’re beautiful and even I can keep them alive, freesias, because they smell gorgeous, but also blossom, crocuses… and these:

Because they mean spring’s almost arrived.

What is your passion?

See question two…

Thank you again Jess! I nominate:

Fran

Errign

Jemma

Laura

Maria

Ooh, and the little matter of my giveaway… Congratulations to the winner, who is *drrrrrrrrumrrrrrrollllllll*

Darla! I’ll pass your email address on to SlimKicker, who’ll get your slow cooker sent to you. Hope you enjoy using it :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Appreciation – and a winner

  1. Errign says:

    Oh yay, I do love a good q&a!

    Also, can we twitter friends? I”m errignhc!

  2. Kailey says:

    congrats on the award!!
    saturday has always been my favorite day of the week too!

  3. Jessica says:

    Hehe, we tagged a lot of the same people ;)

    I do love that poem – the rhythm really echoes the stride of a horse, gallopping or trotting depending on the line. It’s beautiful!

    xxx

  4. Thank you for the nomination! I have had a few of these awards recently so going to try and put it all together into one post!

  5. Thank you so much for including me! The poem is beautiful. I’ve always been intrigued by horses and have only ever been around them maybe twice in my life and then only to rub their noses. I would love to ride, although if I don’t start soon, I’ll need a wheelchair lift on the side of the horsey to get me up there! Ralph and I say we will start riding when we get out west. Hope these old hips can handle it. Thanks again!!!

  6. Thank you for the nomination!!! I’m the same as Laura- had a few of these rewards but still need to post about them. :D

  7. Congrats on the award. Laughed out loud at your favorite number. So fun!! Have a wonderful weekend.

  8. Teleportation would be amazing, think of the traveling you could do/how much you could see! And I completely approve of your favorite animal.

  9. runningcupcake says:

    Thanks- I love a good question and answer thingy :) Hopefully I will remember to do this!

Thank you for commenting!

