Time travelling

I think I must be – time travelling that is – and have woken up in January… what’s all this about?! Midsummer, apparently. Hmmph. I don’t believe gale force winds and pouring rain are technically summer weather…

I’ve had three days off this week, all the better to appreciate said Januarylike weather, and have got quite a bit done. My car was due its MOT yesterday (don’t ask – that hit the wallet hard!) and while it was in the garage, I cycled the four miles to the next village to have my hair cut, then left my bike in the bike shop to get that serviced too. It turned out it had two broken spokes in the back wheel (how did I not notice that?!) but luckily cost slightly less to service than the car did :-)

I got the hairdresser to do me some cheeky ringletty curls instead of straightening it so, freshly coiffeured, blonded and curled, I came out of the shop feeling pretty damn foxy – only to have to cycle  home through the rain, which of course started just after I left and stopped as soon as I walked through the door. Thanks.

Said cheeky curls don’t like rain. If I’m looking for an animal comparison, it was more drowned rat than fox by that point.

I had to go to a morning meeting today (always a bonus on a day off!) then this evening, went to a power hoop class. Have you ever done it? It was so much fun and although I thought at first I’d never get the hang of it, by the second track, I was well away and enjoying every minute. Having said that, I don’t know about DOMS; my hips and stomach are killing me already…!

I used my mum’s recipe book for inspiration for another dinner when I got home, having realised I had parts of loads of vegetables that needed using up:

I chopped most of an aubergine, some courgette, the best part of a red and a green pepper and half a red onion and roasted them, sprinkled with garlic salt and sprayed with olive oil, for about 20 minutes at 200C, until soft.

I then poured over a mini pot of a Dolmio stir-in pasta sauce, (I used to love it in my pre-coeliac days and remembered how good it was when I saw it the other day), sprinkled in some grated cheese and put the whole lot back in the oven for another 15-ish minutes, till the sauce was bubbling and the cheese browning.

I don’t know why I made coleslaw to go with something moussaka-ish either, hence the broccoli barricade. It was delicious though; the sauce is great and the ingredients list is nice and short, although I’m sure passata would work just as well.

The rest of the weekend’s looking busy too; up at the yard for the farrier first thing tomorrow, driving to West Sussex, then out for a meal in the evening – and England’s quarter-final match on Sunday! I love the football at the moment, although I’ve watched England too long to think we’ll still be in after Sunday’s match :-)

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Time travelling

  1. Alexandra says:

    Ooh I bet your hair looked amazing before the rain got a hold of it! Curls are so fun :)
    Hope you have fun this weekend, sounds like you have some great plans ahead!!

  2. runningcupcake says:

    Boo to the rain- what awful, timing your poor hair!
    I know we had a school trip yesterday and you would think in June we would be OK

  3. I love reading your blog cause you always mention the weather just like me! Its driving me crazy, just wish we could get some sun. Fingers crossed for England this afternoon!

    • I’m so English; I can’t not talk about the weather! shame about the football but at least we played better than we did in the last World Cup… we had a lovely sunny day today, hope you got some of it too :-)

  4. The weather is insane at the moment- I just cannot keep up! I hopeit improves soon.

  5. Dannii says:

    I know – what is with the English weather. I am even thinking about making soup. SOUP?!?! In June?!

  6. Again…dinner looks incredible! I’m coming for dinner!! ;-)

  7. Errign says:

    Blah, cars are so expensive.

    Yay, curls, even though the rain ruined them. I am too lazy to curl my hair, but I like it!

    • I’m too lazy too, and I don’t think I’d be able to do it myself anyway! and my car’s such a money-drainer but at least it doesn’t feel like it’s going to fall apart now which is always a bonus :-)

  8. Umm, is a power hoop class a HULA hoop class? Because oh my gosh, I want to go to a fitness hula-hooping class so badly now!

    And hope your yucky weather has cleared up some. Want to send a little rain this way?

    • Yes! It was brilliant; the most enjoyable fitness class I’ve ever done… I think I got a bot over-keen to the Dirty Dancing music though; I’m glad I couldn’t see myself in a mirror at that point :-)
      And I’d gladly swap some weather any time!

  9. Kailey says:

    I always feel a little more outgoing when my hair is curled instead of pin straight like it normally is haha. DOMS is a pain, but luckily it goes away within in a day or two! That roasted vegetable dish looks great.

  10. machisan says:

    Oh Gosh these is so delicious! i would love to have it.

  11. Pingback: Castrating a wildebeest | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

