In the pink

It was all about the pink on Sunday.

Clothes, wigs, hair ribbons and leg warmers – plus the fact the wind meant I didn’t realise how hot the sun was – so my shoulders are pink too :-(

All in a great cause though:

I did my first race for life and it was brilliant. The upper seafront was just a heaving mass of pink – I heard someone say there were 4,500 runners, plus all their supporters – and the atmosphere was something else. The group warm-up was great, the mood- everything.

And the course was inspired too; it was almost all, with twists and turns down side roads, on the upper seafront so there were crowds of cheering people almost all the way.

It must have raised a staggering amount of money, which is brilliant. It was so moving to see on every runner’s back the “I race for life for…” sign filled in with the names of whoever she was doing it for. Fantastic and I’ll definitely do it again.

Of course it was Father’s Day on Sunday too and because my dad’s not one to gush, I’ll just say, thank you, Dad. For everything. xx

When I stumbled across a website offering personalised cards, I couldn’t resist using that picture – plus a couple more of his most mental-looking vegetables inside :-)

And talking of courgettes, and vegetables in general….

I made a lovely pastas bake that night – I cooked a handful of gluten-free penne pasta then, when it was almost ready, chucked a load of chopped vegetables – asparagus, courgette, aubergine and cauliflower – into the pan. While they were cooking, I sauted mushrooms, garlic and spinach, then mixed everything together in a roasting dish. I poured over a sauce made from mixing milk, 2tbsp egg white, 1tbsp nutritional yeast and some finely-grated cheese, then grated more cheese on top and baked at 200C for about 30 minutes.

With homemade coleslaw and steamed broccoli and leeks, it was fantastic. I got the basic idea from a little Good Housekeeping recipe book I stole borrowed from my mum’s house and I’ve got loads more ideas from it; I tend to use recipes as a base point usually, ending up with something that bears almost no resemblance to the original but which I wouldn’t have made without it :-)

Do you follow recipes or use them as inspiration? Have you ever done the Race for Life?Don’t forget there’s still time to enter my giveaway, for a slow cooker or an Amazon voucher!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to In the pink

  1. Well done :) I love Race for Life- so inspiring as you say (but also so emotional) with all the messages on the backs of people’s clothes.

  2. Oh my gosh, if that’s just the cover–I want to know what the other veggie pictures inside were!

  3. Jessica says:

    My very first race was a Race for Life :) I agree that they are great starting points and also really accessible and non-intimidating/non-threatening. I’m not really a fan of the pinkness and ‘sisters are doing it for themselves’ lark but each to their own, and that aspect did help me feel more comfortable when I had been so fearful of crowds in the past. Well done! And you look so beautiful in your pictures too :)

    And goodness, that card made me laugh. I’m surprised your Dad doesn’t hold some Guiness World Records for those vegetables.

    xxx

    • Thank you so much :-)
      I can see it might have been a bit much but I agree it must have made people feel comfortable who weren’t sure – and a great introduction to running…
      Thank you; that was the picture my dad sent a friend of his, with the caption “this was the only one I could lift” – I get my sens of humour from him!

  4. Kailey says:

    Woah that pasta bake looks crazy good girl!
    That is awesome that so many people came out to support the event!

  5. Race for Life is such a great thing to be a part of. Congratulations on completing the course!!!

  6. That pasta bake sounds so good!!! YUM!

  7. yey for the Race for Life! That pasta bake looks delicious!

  8. Errign says:

    I am a fan of recipes as a baseline :)

    Race looks like a blast :)

    • “Baseline” is the right word – I’ve got something else in the oven at this moment which is exactly the same in that it started with inspiration from something completely different!
      And it was brilliant, such a great atmosphere :-)

  9. Hannah says:

    What an amazing cause to run for. Well done, so so truly!

  10. Congrats on the run!
    I tend to use recipes for inspiration and love to tweak them to make them my own!

  11. That dinner looks delicous! Now I’m hungry! I’ve done the Relay For Life which is an over night event. You just walk and walk all night. Raise money too of course, but that usually happens before. On May 19 we did our third. Great fun and a lot of tears but a great event. Happy Sunday!

  12. Pingback: Football final and Bakewell tarts | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

