Catching up

Where does time go?!

From the minute we were catapulted into a deadline day-after-two-bank-holidays on Tuesday, last week seemed to last about two hours… mental.

It included some very random weather on Wednesday. Having left work in bright sunshine and driven through rain on the way home, it was dry as I got near the yard then, a mile out, I saw what looked like snowdrifts on the road… it was hail.

It had seriously drifted to up to four inches thick, I’ve never seen anything like it. But as I’ve been a complete eejit and left the memory card of my camera in my work computer, I’ve only got the ones I took on my phone the next morning:

Random but beautiful…

Gone now though, thank the good lord :-)

Something else I need to talk about is this:

I was lucky enough to be sent some Twinings green tea bags to try and although they didn’t tell me to say so (!) it’s definitely the best green tea I’ve ever had. Smooth and with a lovely flavour, with none of that almost-bitterness you sometimes get with green tea. Twinings will no doubt be pleased to hear they’ve got two new customers; not only me but my mum’s bought some on my recommendation too :-)

And talking of my mum, I went with her to see the Hunger Games the other day. If you haven’t seen it/read the books and don’t want to know, skip this bit :-)

We both thought it was brilliant. I’ve never seen a film version of a book that’s been any good at all before – the huge liberties taken with storylines usually really wind me up *cough* Peter Jackson, Lord of the Rings *cough* – but this one was something else. The way the Gamemakers worked for example, I’d never even thought about but that control room, with Seneca Crane saying things like “get me a tree there” and the way it was so clearly a game to them, really added something to the story. And although they did add bits,  like Snow and Crane’s conversations and the rebellion in 11, it was all to explain the story and I liked the way Crane had to fall on his own sword with the berries… all in all, definitely a winner.

But now, of course, another weekend has gone and it’s almost Monday again… how did that happen?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Catching up

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    The weather has been absolutely batsh*t insane recently. Pardon my French. It’s really taking the ‘April Showers’ concept a little too far for my liking.

    You’re spot on in your review of The Hunger Games – it was the insight into the Gamemakers’ control room that really captivated me as well. I think they’re making Crane into more of a prominent character – what happened to him in the later books was one of the series’ weaknesses for me, as I felt he wasn’t fleshed out enough. Hopefully the films are setting out to rectify that! I know there was some controversy over the casting of Rue, but I thought she was just perfect…her death was really poignant where it could have been sickly and melodramatic. They did a fantastic job with those scenes.

    Oh God, don’t get me started on LOTR. I must be the only person who hated the films and twitches a little whenever they are mentioned.

    xxx

    • I was thinking about “April showers” as I cycled along in the rain the other day and smiling ironically to myself :-)
      Thank you and I agree that it’s great they did more with Crane and his casting was brilliant. I heard all that controversy about Rue and didn’t understand why; she and Thresh were both spot-on, I thought, and her death could have been over-sentimental but wasn’t… I want the next two films to carry on and come out now!
      And no, I’m so with you on the LOTR. I did like bits of the Fellowship (namely the “You shall not pass!” Balrog bit :-) ) but the second two made me so angry because Jackson claimed to be “such a Tolkien” fan while at the same time murdering the characters, plots and storylines, grrrrrr! xx

  2. athleticali says:

    Ah, do you remember a few weeks ago, when summer was ‘here to stay’? I love british weather reporting!

    I’m so picky when it comes to green tea, but I’ve never tried twinings pure. I’ll look out for them in the future :)

    • Me too, I love the way the headline will be “big freeze to last a month” then when you read it, it actually says it’s a bit chilly – in the far North of Scotland :-)
      I’m no tea connoisseur but I really liked this green tea, worth a try, I reckon!

  3. Jeyna Grace says:

    The picture looks like a painting…

  4. runningcupcake says:

    We even had thunder the other day too- seems very changeable.

  5. amylovesfood says:

    What lovely photos! I bet you needed a nice hot green tea after being out in that cold weather?!

  6. I know what you mean about the weather its nuts! I agree with your thoughts on the Hunger Games, definitely a good book to film conversion. I loved the contrast between the districts and the Capitol :-)

  7. The weather is super crazy right now. I wish it would make up its mind! the Hunger Games rocks! :D

  8. The photos are amazing! I’ve done that too, left my memory card in the computer. I hate when I do things like that! Haven’t seen Hunger Games yet, but that’s so interesting about how they showed the control room for the Games. I want to see it even more, now!

  9. I saw The Hunger Games a couple of weeks ago and thought it was a really good movie. I have not yet read the books. It was an incredibly stressful experience, though, to see the movie. So intense!!! Yesterday it was forecasted to storm all day…I mostly stayed inside just waiting for that rain. It didn’t come until evening.

    • I know what you mean, it’s so fast-paced and definitely intense! Read the books though if you get the chance, they’re so good and there’s so much more that of course they could never get in a film :-)

  10. I need to get to the Hunger Games! Although the 2.5hr length is scaring me off. I can sit and read a book for four hours, but put me in front of a tv or movie screen? I get SO antsy as soon as it hits the 1.5 hour mark. Mmm, I do love green tea–I’m currently obsessed with gen mai cha (brown rice and green tea), it isn’t bitter either and has this amazing subtle flavor.

    • I’m exactly the same normally, even if I’m enjoying the film, I start shuffling and wishing it would hurry up 45 minutes in – but in this one, the first time I looked at my watch, an hour and three quarters had gone and I couldn’t believe it – you seriously won’t think it drags!
      That tea sounds so good too :-)

  11. Yes.. where DOES time go? Time is seriously flying by so so fast.
    We’ve been having some random weather, too.

Thank you for commenting!

