Keeping Mum

Where does time go?!

I can’t believe how quickly a week’s gone by since my last post. Or my last posy, as I just typo-d :-)

This one’s all about my mum.

Like last year, I went with her to the Mothering Sunday service in her church, where she sings in the choir. It’s always lovely, with Sunday School children singing and handing out bunches of spring flowers to everyone and it’s always packed.

I took my mum some presents, of course, including another batch of these:

She loved the beetroot cookies when I last made them so I wielded my heart-shaped cookie cutters again.

I covered some in lemon icing, created what I fondly believed to be artistic drizzles on others:

And left some totally naked. Cover your eyes, kids.

I also took her a heather plant, and a mug which says it all. Thanks Mum for being great xx

It wasn’t intentional that everything was so – pink! There was also (just visible on the sofa) a helium balloon I’d got from work, because I thought it would be funny. Unfortunately, there wasn’t any helium. And just in case you’re wondering whether it’s possible to blow a helium balloon up yourself, it ain’t. I know :-)

She liked the cookies, as did I. I had to test a couple, after all.

Some other random deliciousness from this past week:

Jessica’s white bean gratin, with mushrooms added for good measure; delicious.

Some more carrot cake truffles:

Also delicious. And talking of carrots, I love my job. Those aren’t two completely unrelated statements either because on Tuesday, I’m going to an animal behaviourist’s new obedience class, for a feature for the paper. And when I say obedience class, it involves agility too – and it’s for rabbits.

I kid you not – and the behaviourist says she’ll bring a couple of “spares” so even those that don’t own rabbits can have a go too. The mind boggles.

Can’t wait and, of course, because it’s for a feature, there’ll be a photographer there…!

Have a great week :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Keeping Mum

  1. The cookies look delicious! I’m yet to use beetroot in my baking – I really need to try it!

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    How beautiful – your Mum is very lucky :)

    Ah, I haven’t tried to blow up a helium balloon before, but I have inhaled the helium from an already inflated balloon. Hours of squeaky-voiced fun ensued :P

    Aww, I wish I could have a go at agility training rabbits. Just the thought of it is absolutley adorable.

    xxx

  3. Aww thsoe cookies are so beautiful! I have never tried using the ingredient though… it will happen!

    • Thank you! They taste great too but you don’t need much beetroot so I’ve still got loads left – I think a beetroot chocolate cake will have to be in the offing once Lent’s over!

  4. cottercrunch says:

    lucky mum! so thoughtful. I would have loved those cookies, especially the beetroot. No lie.

  5. Awww those are so cute!!!

  6. That looks so lovely, I bet your Mam was chuffed! I can’t wait to hear about the rabbit class!

  7. Great looking treats, and I love that “Best Mom” box!

  8. Haha – I can’t wait to hear about that rabbit class :-)
    Those cookies look delicious – your Mum is one lucky lady!

  9. I bet that class will be a hoot! I used to have pet rabbits growing up…I can’t ever remember training them to do anything so I’ll stay tuned for your report!

  10. Maria says:

    I LOVE rabbits! They are my favourite- I hope you have loads of fun! :)
    Those gifts for your Mum look perfect too.

  11. Can’t wait to see how you do with the bunnies!!

  12. Errign says:

    Picturing an obedience class with bunnies is making me inwardly laugh, like, a lot. :)

  13. Ah haha, I love the idea of having “spare” rabbits on hand. You know, just in case…

  14. Your mother-daughter bond sounds beautiful :D
    I am glad you honour and lover her so much and vice versa :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Colossal Caramel Peanut Monster Cookies

Thank you for commenting!

