The Real McCoy

I was half-tempted to call this post “The Full Monty” – but I didn’t want to scare anyone off :-)

It’s because of these:

Remember the not-quite-but-nearly lebkuchen from last week? They were nice ginger/spice biscuits but they weren’t exactly right. I wanted soft, crisp-edged slices and I was determined to make them. I was hunting everywhere for a better recipe – and my mum, bless her, found one. It came from an old German recipe book – and it’s this week’s contribution to:

12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies and Sweets, thanks to Brenda.

Lebkuchen, makes 30+ pieces

245g flour (I used the Doves Farm white gluten-free blend)

125g brown sugar (I used half light and half dark)

35g ground almonds

3 heaped tbsp (75g) honey

50 ml water

50ml milk

1tsp baking powder

1/2tsp ground ginger

1tsp ground mixed spice

Glaze: 110g sieved icing sugar

1-2tbsp hot water

lemon juice (optional)

Whisk the honey, sugar, ground almonds, spices, milk and water together till smooth, then sieve the flour and baking powder in together and mix well. It won’t be stiff like a cut-out biscuit dough, but a spreadable consistency. Handy, really, as your next step is to spread it – on a lined baking sheet, to about 1cm thick. Leave to set for an hour, then bake in the middle of an oven preheated to 200C for 17 minutes, until golden brown.

Mix the icing sugar with enough hot water to make a spreadable but not too liquid consistency. I don’t think lebkuchen traditionally have lemon glaze but I love the combination of lemon and spice so add away if you fancy it. Spread on the glaze and cut into pieces while still warm, then leave to cool and set.

And once they had (or possibly slightly before they had) I got stuck in – and this was what I’d been aiming for! Soft, spicy and gingery with the crisp edges and the set glaze… delicious and very Christmassy.

I’ve actually already bought three presents *pats self on back* but only because I’ve happened to spot them… I never really think about Christmas till December; last minute panic beckons, no doubt :-)

Have you started thinking about/getting organised for Christmas yet?

This entry was posted in baking, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Real McCoy

  1. Alexandra says:

    Oh wow these look SO good!! I can’t wait for Christmas, we’re putting up decorations this weekend and I’m beyond excited :)

  2. Maria says:

    They look so yummy :) When I was hunting for recipes half of the ones were like that (tray bake type things) whereas I wanted the little round ball half cake half cookie things. But that recipe looks so yummy. I am nearly ready for Christmas but partly because my parents are away and I am seeing them on the 9/10th, and also we are away the following week so need to be ready for that.

  3. Leigh says:

    These look delicious and very easy to make, I may have a go as I have all the ingredients on hand (makes a change). I’m trying not to think about Christmas until I get all my assignments out the way. I’m pretty last minute too!

  4. They look fab! I have so many lovely gingerbread recipes in my Evernote I really don’t know which ones to make for Christmas! Decisions decisions!

  5. My grandmother always made icing that way. It is my Favorite!! Looks yummy!

  6. That looks soo yummy! :)
    Yes! I’ve already started shopping for Christmas gifts and plan on making a bunch of Christmas cookies sometime next week :)

    • That’s so organised, I’m impressed! I could say I’ve been organised by making Christmas cookies for weeks but as it was for this challenge and I’ve eaten them all, it doesn’t quite count :-)

  7. sue says:

    that looks so good, I love the idea of cookie like bars

  8. Present shopping is for the 24th!! ;) The Lebkuchen looks great, I can imagine it would make a great christmas present for a foodie.

  9. stephsnacks says:

    These look super delish! What a good idea :-)

  10. Yum yum.. great idea! I am putting up decorations tomorrow for the holidays :)

  11. I’m decorated for Christmas but I haven’t even begun to think about Christmas shopping! I tell myself every year that I’m going to go shopping early, and I never do :)

  12. Errign says:

    I would have appreciated the full monty title haha. Yummy cookies :)

  13. Pingback: Sable-bodied | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: Polar opposites | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

