From hangover to banoffee

I’d imagine this would be a perfect hangover cure.

Not that I’d know of course. It’s not that I went to a slightly seedy half eighties/half modern music club last night, where vodka and lemonades were £1 each, that I had a brilliant night, six hours’ sleep then went up the yard, tottering round in my heels because I’d forgotten to take my boots to my friend’s house.

Of course not. But I’d imagine that if anyone had done that, banana porridge with flax seed would be a good hangover cure. Just a thought.

It’s all been a bit busy the last few days; I went to a second-hand horsey stuff sale with my friend on Friday evening and a talk my dad was giving to the local history society on Thursday night. So rock and roll. In the meantimes, it’s been lots of riding Inka.

There’s also been baking; a cake for the farm shop, one for the cafe for next week and one for a lady at work’s birthday for tomorrow:

I know that’s just the latest in the long line of carrot-related creations but it wasn’t intended. I started making one of these, patting myself on the back for using some hazelnuts I’d found lurking in the cupboard. But as I was just about to put it into the tins, I had a taste – and it was revoltingly bitter. Looking at the empty hazelnut packet, I found they’d gone out of date in March. 2009. Oops.

By then, I’d run out of eggs but I did have carrots, flax and apples… so honestly, it wasn’t my fault another carrot cake created itself :-)

But I also made something else.

Something I’ve mentioned a couple of times in the last couple of months.

Something good.

Something gluten-free, dairy-free and vegan:

Banoffee pie! Possibly my favourite pudding of all time. The one I had at the magic night was so good, I was determined to make an allergen-free version. And here it is.

Crust:

100g oats

2tbsp maple syrup

1tbsp apple puree

1tbsp almond butter

1tbsp ground flax seed

3tbsp warm water.

Caramel:

120g dates

1tsp lemon juice

4tbsp maple syrup

1tbsp coconut oil, melted

Topping:

6tbsp coconut cream

2 medium bananas

Preheat oven to 150C and line a small baking tin. I used an 8×8 one but it didn’t quite fill it, as you can see below. Four mini pie tins would be great, I reckon, for individual servings. Mix the flax seed with the warm water and set aside.

Mix oats, apple, almond butter and syrup, then add flax once it’s absorbed the water and mix till well combined. Dollop into the tin and smooth out. Bake for 25-30 minutes till browned on the outside. It won’t feel too hard in the middle but will crisp as it cools.

Cover the dates in water, with the lemon juice in it and leave for at least half an hour. Then squeeze out the dates as much as possible and blend in a food processor with the maple syrup and coconut oil till as smooth as possible. Taste the caramel and stand awestruck at the deliciousness you’ve just created.

Smooth what remains of the caramel on to the cooled base and refrigerate. I actually left mine about 24 hours because I had to go out but a couple of hours should do it; the caramel sets and is even more delicious than previously :-)

At the same time, whip the coconut cream. I used my hand blender with the whipping blade, then switched to the blending blade and mixed in one of the bananas. Leave the topping in the fridge for the same length of time.

When ready to serve, slice the other banana and layer the pieces on the caramel.

Then dollop the cream on top. It’s runnier than a “normal” banoffee pie – but none the worse for that!

For a recipe that was a real case of “wing it and see what happens”, I’m really pleased with this! I based the crust on my granola, adding the flax to try and stop it being too brittle, but wasn’t sure it’d work – but it really did. I prefer banoffee pie without too much whipped stuff on top so I thought blending that with the banana would not only be better, it would keep the coconut milk thick enough to act as the topping, which seemed to work. I’d also like to experiment with a raw date/nut crust, which I imagine would go brilliantly with the topping – but this was delicious as it was.

Sprinkling grated chocolate or cocoa powder in the top may be poncy – but it looks good. And it tastes good. Crunch/caramel/banana/coconut/chocolate?! Mmmmmm…. :-)

And as it’s gluten-free, vegan and relatively “healthy” (it ain’t by any means lacking in calories and fat but it’s natural sweetness and “good” fat), I’m submitting it to this Wellness Weekend at Diet Dessert and Dogs, where the original genius caramel recipe came from… go and check out the other great creations submitted!

Have you tried banoffee pie – and do you like it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to From hangover to banoffee

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    Mmm, pie…*cue drooling* I did have a vegan banoffee pie once, and it was absolutely gorgeous, but it really did taste unhealthy and probably was (lots of tofu substitutes I think, soy cream, etc…messed with my tum very badly unfortunately). I’d much rather have your version!

    xxx

    • Thank you! The only thing with normal ones, vegan and gluten-free or not, is that they are so full of unhealthiness… but although this was really sweet and caramelly, it didn’t have that tooth-achingness of a “normal” one – if that makes any sense :-)

  2. this looks absolutely amazing… and actually, now that I think about it I have NO idea whether or not i’ve ever had a banoffee pie! I probably have, but don’t remember… time to get on that one again :-)

  3. lindsay says:

    i love that this is gf! i have been looking for a good banoffee pie recipe that was GF. I can always count on you Elle! Yea for not more apples and lots of carrots! haha.

  4. Maria says:

    Yum that looks amazing- using dates like in sticky toffee pudding is genius! Pure genius! I love banoffee but without the cream :)

  5. That looks amazing! I have to try making that caramel sauce, I bet it would taste fab with pancakes or on porridge. Glad you had a good night out, my cousin was just saying how porridge is her favourite hangover cure too!

  6. That looks so delicious and I’m not really a banana fan! Great idea!

  7. Errign says:

    I’ve never had banoffee pie, but it sounds good. We don’t have it here, I don’t think!

  8. Love the peanut butter and banana layers!

  9. I’m not a huge banoffee pie fan, but this one sounds and looks delicious! I’m on a real banana kick at the moment, so I should give it another time.

  10. I’ve never had it, but yeah, I could probably be talked into taking a bite ;D And, theoretically of course, hot cereal with banana really WOULD be a great hangover cure. With a soy latte on the side. Theoretically. Because who can turn down $1 vodka lemonades? Or $1 jello shots? Theoretically.

  11. This looks too good! I’ve never had banoffee pie before as it always looks too sweet for me, but your version sounds lovely.

  12. Lauren says:

    Your vegan banoffee pie looks amazing!

  13. I LOVE banoffee pie but it’s always so sickeningly sweet (and I’ve yet to have a Vegan one), this looks incredible – love that it’s GF too. Definitely want to try and make this soon :)

  14. Haha! Vodka lemonades… ahhh yes… that was the first drink I ever legally purchased in a bar! They’re dangerous :)

    I’ve never had banoffee pie- I’ve actually never even heard of it, but your version looks tasty!

  15. Hannah says:

    Oh, swoon! I’ve never had bannoffee pie, half because I used to hate bananas, half because of the dairy and wheat allergies in my family. Brilliant recipe!

  16. What a delicious version of the Bannoffe Pie! :) It is one of my favourite desserts :)

  17. Pingback: Anti-candida, Sugar-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  18. Oh my gosh, that looks ahhhhhhmazing!! I’ve never tried banoffee pie, but that is soon to change! ;)

  19. Pingback: Pi Day, Late A Day | For Instants

  20. Pingback: Feeling fruity – banoffee bonanza | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

