P-p-p pick up – some porridge!

It’s that time again!

I know I wan’t the only one who realised it was World Porridge Day on Monday. I saw it on Twitter and thought it would be rude not to mark the occasion :-)

Having thought that, Monday’s breakfast didn’t quite count, just to be awkward:

There were oats in there with the blueberries, yoghurt and flax seed but only because I’d run out of granola, so I just chucked in some raw oats. Nice but not quite the full ticket.

It was lucky I wasn’t that hungry at dinner time so instead of a huge veg plate I had:

Got there eventually! Carrot cake porridge topped with my new favourite thing – chopped, microwaved apple, mixed with almond butter and maple syrup; mmmmmm :-)

It had to be mixed in though. Standard.

That wasn’t the only appley part of the day either, I’ve been loving them at the moment.

I have to say ya can’t beat Coxes, straight off the tree at this time of year, so sweet, crunchy and crisp… I’ve tried to store some in the shed so they’ll last but I’m not sure how successful that’ll be – fingers crossed.

There was some interesting snackage too, including these:

But in true tease stylee, they’ll have to wait till tomorrow because they’re for this week’s Christmas cookies. They’re goooooood :-)

Did you know it was World Porridge Day – and did you “celebrate”?! (I know someone who did in brilliant style!) Did you also know, there’s a world porridge making championships?? Neal Robertson‘s the winner, apparently… :-)

Happy WIAW – Thanks to Jenn as always!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to P-p-p pick up – some porridge!

  1. hehe happy world porridge day! I had no idea! I KIND OF had something porrige-y for lunch! yay!

  2. Rachel says:

    today’s also national gumbo day! i’ve never had porridge.. or gumbo actually since i’m a vegetarian. my favorite food holiday of this week was cake decorating day on monday. food holidays are the best, aren’t they?

  3. world wide porridge day?!?! so mad i missed it!

  4. I certainly did not know.. does oat ‘bran’ count?… not reeeeally i suppose :(

  5. BrocStar says:

    I’ve never had porridge.. just oatmeal!

  6. I can’t believe I missed World Porridge Day! I’ve been on a HUGE oats kick lately, but can you believe I woke up Monday and all I wanted was eggs?!

    Ok, this may be a stupid American question, but what are Coxes?

    • Not a stupid question at all, my fault for not putting up the picture I meant to! They’re apples and although you can buy them all year round, supermarket ones don’t compare to the fresh ones!
      And brilliant, love that it was the one day you didn’t have porridge :-)

  7. Maria says:

    Ha ha for me every day is porridge day for me ;)
    It was because of seeing it on your blog that I tried carrot in porridge- pleasantly surprised! :)

  8. I didn’t realise it was but strangely enough I had an amazing giant bowl of porridge the other morning with peanut flour and berries and it was delish!

  9. Leigh says:

    I need to find more time in the morning’s to eat some porridge! I do like it for tea sometimes though when I’m really cold. I need to try this carrot in porridge thing, I have carrots coming out of my ears at the mo as they are so cheap.

  10. ~Jessica~ says:

    I didn’t know about the day, but I did have pumpkin porridge. I must have had some subliminal impulse that drove me to it ;)

    xxx

  11. Errign says:

    Carrot cake porridge? I want! :) Great eats…

  12. I love porridge! I think I had it on Monday, but it was a fluke because I was ignorant of World Porridge Day. I really have to try that carrot cake porridge – it looks so lush.

Thank you for commenting!

