Passing the buck(wheat)

I read somewhere today that this has officially been the coolest summer for nearly 30 years.

“No sh*t, Sherlock”, thought I as I made myself put on another jumper, man up and resist the temptation to put the heating on. In August.

Hmmph.

It’s Wednesday though, and rubbish summer or not, that means…..

Bless Jenn, not even Hurricane Irene could stop her getting the WIAW on!

Mine started in a very autumnal way. The return of hot porridge, cooked a la carrot cake again, but with a grated apple added too. That meant there was hardly enough room or water to cook the oats – but it was still delicious.

I added vanilla Munchy Seeds and stirred some yoghurt in as an attempt to recreate cream cheese icing. It was an unsuccessful attempt, but full marks for trying, I feel :-)

Snackage was bought by my lovely friend Laura:

An Eat Natural nutty bar. Mine was saved for home scoffage but Laura ate hers in the car. Jessica, in the back, was less than impressed that she didn’t get any but something tells me big chunky nuts (minds out of the gutter please!) aren’t exactly ideal snackage for a one-year-old… :-)

I was too hungry/greedy to record lunch, except for pudding (and coffee):

But pudding is the most important bit of any meal, after all :-)

For dinner, I’d found a random half-bag of whole buckwheat in the cupboard and it looked as if it needed a purpose in life. My default setting seems to be “if in doubt, make burgers” – so that’s what I did.

I had one with carrot and swede mash and Mount Vegerest, just because I never have that and I fancied a change… :-)

I thought they were delicious but as I made them mainly for a friend who’s starting a gluten-free, dairy-free and vegetarian diet, I’ll wait till she’s tried them before I share the recipe…

And it may be cold and miserable but it is still August, just, which I think makes it still summer enough for ice-cream:

I know the last two pictures are rubbish… don’t’cha just love it when your camera battery runs out?!

I managed to catch today’s Mental Veg of the Day before it did though:

Is it just me or does that carrot remind you of Ursula, from The Little Mermaid?!

Just me then :-)

Moving on.

At least you can see that’s a carrot whereas the other thing could be a mushroom – but could equally be a football. Mad.

Happy WIAW – and thank you to Jenn for hosting the party!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Passing the buck(wheat)

  1. Ok, that first sentence had me extremely, extremely jealous. Coolest summer ever?! It’s been the hottest one here!! Even up north hit record highs! Lucky you.

  2. Mandiee says:

    Your burgers sound delicious! I’m a huge fan of buckwheat, so I’d definitely be interested in the recipe. Also, coconut butter may work well for “icing” your carrot cake oatmeal. I hope it warms up a bit where you are!

  3. BrocStar says:

    That’s a mushroom? holy crap!
    Sorry about the lame summer. The summer out here in Portland has been pretty much perfect.. not too hot. A little cold but that’s how I like it. :)

  4. Hannah says:

    Eeep! I didn’t even recognize that as a mushroom, lol! Strange things-a-comin out that garden of yours!

  5. lindsay says:

    same here, i need your summer temps! oh and the buckwheat burger recipe.

  6. I’ve actually never had buckwheat! I need to change this. I’m sure I’d like it!

    Not gonna like, that carrot is freaking me out!

  7. Haha, that carrot does look like Ursula!

    We had a cooler summer last year, and it sucked, because the fall was really hot!

  8. I love your Mr Messy cup..so cute!

  9. Maria says:

    Yes I love your Ursula carrot- can totally see where you are coming from!
    Cold summers are so rubbish- it is hard to work when it is so hot, but also it means we are ready for autumn when it starts getting cooler.

  10. Leigh says:

    That’s a mushroom?! I thought it was a baking potato!
    It’s always the season for ice cream, in my opinion!

  11. Love that carrot, I found a mis shaped one and thought of you! You’ve also made me think that I need to make some clapshot (carrot and swede mash) very soon indeed!

  12. ~Jessica~ says:

    What on earth was that last vegetable? Did I miss it? Love the carrot though ;)

    I have an obsession with Buckwheat at the moment. Along with Paella rice it’s tied for my favourite grain. Still have a love for quinoa too though.

    I’d love to see the recipe for those burgers once you’re ready :)

    xxx

    • Well it smells like a mushroom and grew like a mushroom…. but it could be anything! And there are some seriously mental carrots coming from my dad’s garden; I can’t wait to see the squash :-)
      I’m not too keen on quinoa but I love buckwheat and paella rice is lovely… recipe to come!

  13. Yumm, I want to start adding carrots to my oatmeal! Great idea for deliciousness AND getting in some sneaky veggies :D

Thank you for commenting!

