Crunch time

This is another one of those post titles that could apply to a few different things.

The first is these:

I made them a week or so ago, as part of the July Adopt A Gluten Free Blogger, hosted by Sea at the Book of Yum. I chose GF Veg of Wheatless and Meatless, a blog I hadn’t really seen before.

And it does what it says on the tin :-)

GF Veg is: “Devoted to developing nutritious,delectable, and economical gluten-free vegetarian dishes” – so there are lots of brilliant options to go for but, not surprisingly, I went first for something sweet.

I chose the St Patrick’s Day cookies. You’re not supposed to make any substitutions except out of necessity but as I only found out I didn’t have any pistachios halfway through, I hope it’s ok I used coconut instead!

They were delicious. Perfectly crunchy and just sweet enough, and I loved the citrus flavours, as did everyone else when I took them to my friend’s for dinner, where they went perfectly with the gooseberry fool.

Next, I wanted to make these delicious-looking protein burgers… but ran out of time :-(

And that’s another reason this post is called crunch time – I managed to think I had till August 13 to make recipes – but it really wasn’t. That’s not to say that burger recipe isn’t still bookmarked though, I’m definitely making them anyway!

I really like the adopting party and am definitely going to do it again. I think it’s great whether you have to be GF or not; you get to discover new blogs, new food and get cooking, which can only be a good thing.

The last reason for this post title is related to Body Pump this morning. I upped my weights a bit. I’m going to suffer tomorrow :-)

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Crunch time

  1. I think that adopt a blogger thing is a great idea for discovering new blogs! That gooseberry fool looks absolutely amazing, I love gooseberries too :-)

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    Sounds like a great project :)

    I still can’t get over how pretty your Gooseberry Fool is: you’re the only person that could make such desserts look tasty to me, because I’ve had bad experiences with fools in the past (people as well as food lol)

    xxx
    P.S Thanks for the reality check about running too.

  3. i’ve never had a gooseberry! i just realised! hahaa! i’ll have to try them :-) I really wanna try a body pump class too! :-)

  4. That project sounds like fun! I love experimenting with gluten free foods and have even taken to using brown rice flour whenever I make pancakes :) I actually think I like it better than whole wheat – it seems to make “softer” pancakes :)

    Your gooseberry fool truly looks incredible! I think I’ve had gooseberries before, but I need to refresh that memory ;)

    Have a great day!!
    <3 <3

    • That’s really interesting to hear from someone who does eat wheat flour… I’d love to be able to compare but sadly not possible :-)
      And thank you; gooseberries aren’t that common… but very nice and I’m sure it would work with other fruit too…

  5. Yum, cookies :) You may have mentioned this before, but what exactly is gooseberry fool? I’ve never heard of it before, but it looks so tasty!

  6. Mm, crunchy citrus cookies sound delicious! And coconut is a way better choice than pistachio, if you ask me :) And WOOT for upping weights! Such a good feeling (even if there’s some muscle soreness involved…)

  7. That’s so a cool project!!! And I’m sure the coconut was an awesome substitution! It’s always good when you can go with what you have on hand :)

  8. The adopt a blogger idea sounds like great fun. Can you believe that I have never tried gooseberries before.

Thank you for commenting!

