That’s a turnip for the books

That’s this one!

Sorry. I couldn’t resist :-)

I saw my dad after work today and he gave me that, bless him.

It was so beautiful, wandering round his garden in the beautiful, beautiful SUN! It’s been ROASTING today! Sorry for the gratuitous capitals and exclamation marks but it’s been that amazingly, deliciously, stunningly summery today – and I love it :-)

But anyway… on to the party!

This week’s What I Ate Wednesday is actually What I Ate Today, which is a first.

And there were some unusual (for me at the moment) variations, starting with breakfast:

I hadn’t had chia pudding – or bananas – for ages, because of my obsession with yoghurt/berries/granola but suddenly fancied it. I used Kara coconut milk, chia seeds, a mashed banana and some vanilla yoghurt, left overnight and blended in the morning.

Now I think about it, for a breakfast that seemed so different, it still contained fruit, yoghurt and granola. Variation fail :-)

Lunch was as boring as work lunches normally are but dinner was delicious:

I made a frittata, with pre-steamed carrot and swede slices, spinach and cheese. I had it with some of this, which I also found out today my dad grows:

I’d never had purple sprouting broccoli before, although I do regularly eat my own weight in its green cousin, but I loved it. I also had courgette, sliced, sprinkled with garlic salt and roasted which is out of this world.

Now I think of it though, is slices of carrot and swede in a frittata that different from carrot and swede mash? I think not. Variation fail number 2 :-)

Pudding always follows – and is always a dark-chocolate-sprinkled Mullerlight yoghurt – but I also had one of these:

A Del Monte frozen yoghurt bar; vanilla in the middle and some sort of berry sorbet bit round the outside… these are amazing! Perfect on a roasting hot night like this; or a cold night, to be honest, I just wanted to mention again how SUMMERY it is!

I do love a bit of heat :-)

Happy WIAW and thank you to Jenn for hosting!

What’s your favourite summery thing to eat? I know it’s a boring question – but I can’t resist this (very rare) chance to ask it :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to That’s a turnip for the books

  1. Errign says:

    My favorite summer-y things are ice tea, ice cream, and fresh salads!

  2. Rachel says:

    favorite summery thing to eat? other than froyo and smoothies… CRUNCHY fresh veggies and berries.

  3. Haha – I love the pun :-)
    My favourite thing to eat in the summer is probably a really cold, juicy melon. I also love ice-cream, but I try not to eat it that often.

  4. I love purple sprouting broccoli and that looks delicious! My fave thing has to be smoothies, I’ve made a couple of really tasty ones with watermelon recently that have been lovely :-)

  5. Maria says:

    Love the title :)
    We used to grow purple sprouting brocoli when I was little- I am going to attempt it in my allotment I think.
    I love summery foods- ice cream, watermelon or fresh pineapple. Or sorbet. yum

    • Haha, thank you, I love a good pun :-)
      Brilliant to have an allotment; it’s so satisfying eating something you’ve grown yourself and it tastes so much better than shop stuff!

  6. I love smoothies, berries, tropical fruits and humungous salads at the moment. I love purple sprouting broccoli too. :)

  7. Purple sprouting broccoli is yum dipped in humus!
    My favourite summer food is ice cream, can’t get enough of it. Especially dirt cheap choc ices, yum!

  8. Ohhh favorite summery thing- Watermelon!!!! I’m having a huge watermelon themed bday party this weekend! haha

  9. Allie says:

    Great turnip :) And I’m glad I’m not the only heat-lover out there! Summer, bring it on! Anything frozen is summery to me–I’d never have frozen fruit bar in the winter, and will rarely touch ice cream then. And fresh fruits and veggies! All of ‘em make me think of summer. Iced tea! That’s definitely a summer thing. Okay, I could apparently go on forever, I’ll stop there :D

    • I love it! I know people in really hot places must get sick of it and can’t wait for autumn but I just think you can’t beat proper scorching summer days, glad it’s not just me :-)
      And no need to stop there, that all sounds right up my street!

  10. heheh it still looks frittata like to me! and delicious! seriously i’d LOVE a piece right now! <3

  11. I need to re create that frittata! yum! my favourite summer eats are definatly sorbet! the zestier the better! xx

Thank you for commenting!

