Happy birthday to me!

Or rather, happy birthday to Eating Like A Horse, a year old today… hasn’t he grown?!

:-)

I can’t believe I’ve been spouting my mindless rubbish for a full (count ‘em) 365 days. That’s a lot of random ramblings… but my first post, on Blogger, was Tuesday, July 20, 2010.

So to mark the occasion, and because I missed out on the party last week and couldn’t bear to again, here is…

What I’ve Eaten This Year… not quite all of it though :-)

First up, breakfast:

I couldn’t pick a best breakfast of the year because there have been so many good ones! But this bread pudding, inspired by Lindsay’s great recipe, with banana bread, a mashed banana in the batter and using peanut flour, immediately sprang to mind – so good!

Next up, lunch.

My lunches aren’t usually adventurous at all but one that I was quite proud of was this:

I love that mushroom soup and it’s only because I’m too lazy that I don’t have it more often for lunch… :-)

Dinner’s another hard one but I’ll have to go for the cauliflower risotto. Since I first made Alisa’s delicious one, I’ve had a version (with spinach, mushrooms, crack pesto and cheese) so many times. It’s become my staple “I don’t know what to have but this is simple and great” dinner and it’s always brilliant.

Some of the year’s top snackage includes my own weight in these:

I’m not joking.

Plus I hate to think how many chocolate raisins and, of course, my must-have:

Can’t believe I had never heard of this a year ago and now I couldn’t be without it…

It’s just one of so many foods, recipes and ways of cooking I’ve found in the last year. But one of the many things I love about blogging is the sense of community; not only the sharing recipes and tips but the support and friendship you get from it. I’ve “met” so many great people and feel really privileged to be part of it.

With that in mind, and because it’s my (blog’s) birthday, I’m going to give someone a present :-)

The only thing is, I thought I’d get in with enough time to sort it today but I’ve only just finished dinner and it’s gone 10pm… so I hope I’m not being too much of a tease to say there will be a giveaway in my next post!

Thanks so much to Jen for another WIAW, and if you haven’t got your own WIAW on, or even if you have, go and have a look at those who have; just another great thing about blogging :-)

If you blog, what do you like about it most? And don’t forget to come back for a giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Happy birthday to me!

  1. Happy bloggy birthday!! It really is amazing how fast time flies.

  2. I’m all over the mushroom soup and risotto! ahhh yum! I wish I had them infront of me! Happy 1 year bday to your bloggy!!!! awww its all grown up! <3

  3. Maria says:

    Happy bloggy birthday!
    I love “meeting” all the people. I used to read blogs and comment a bit, but now I love the fact that I read blogs, and they read mine, and we all sort of get to know each other. :)

  4. Happy birthday to your blog!How exciting! My favourite part of my blog is commenting and getting to know everyone.

  5. Happy birthday! It’s a real achievement :-) I love the look of the cauliflower risotto!

  6. Oh excited for your giveaway! Happy blog birthday! I’m off to check out that breakfast recipe :-)

  7. Happy birthday to your blog! It’s not a baby anymore :)

  8. Little Bookworm says:

    Happy birthday to your blog! :D

  9. CONGRATS on one year! What an awesome milestone. And cauliflower risotto sounds amazing, I’m off to check it out…

Thank you for commenting!

