Ow!

I can feel that Body Pump effect! As soon as I got up this morning, I could feel the ache, mainly in my backside although that’s probably in the “too much information” category :-)

But it’s better than how I thought I’d feel, especially after I spent the rest of the afternoon at my friend’s house yesterday. She’s had her three stepdaughters there all week and, once we’d watched them do a play (not quite sure what it was about but very entertaining) the youngest started asking me to go on the trampoline with her. Apparently I’d said at the barbecue last week that I would “next time”. Five-year-olds remember everything you say  :-)

It was actually great but when the other two got on there, a bit hairy! And with one (no doubt awesome) move, I did something to my knee. They’ve both been a bit dodgy since I fell off my old horse on to both kneecaps once (I don’t recommend it) and all night it was so painful – but it’s almost better today so all in all, I was grateful just to have an aching bum :-)

I was also grateful for more time this morning, to make…

Pancakes! Combining these two recipes, I used 40g raspberries, 30g medium-ground oatmeal, 2tbsp egg white and 1/2 tsp baking powder, took another picture in the pan because they looked pretty (not as good as the almond ones though!)

And topped them with more rapberries and a dollop of coconut yoghurt – perfect.

I then cycled up to the yard, decided against riding Dave because I didn’t think my backside would appreciate it and lunged him instead. He probably would have been all over the place anyway because it’s howling a gale (again) and raining on and off (again, including while I was cycling back – nice.)

It rained just as I cycled up there this evening too :-(

Someone had made the most of the mud:

I’m hoping that he’ll roll again on a dry bit and roll the mud back off. Having said that, it supposed to rain all week so I doubt there will be many dry bits left!

There weren’t many dry bits on me either. But when you’ve got a spaghetti squash ready to roast, it’s all fine :-)

With Appetite for Reduction cheezy sauce, coleslaw and veg – seriously lick-the-plate good. Ahem.

So that’s me, spaghetti squash and my aching backside – perfect :-)

And someone else who I know has been enjoying spaghetti squash is Laura, who smashed her personal best in the Great North Run – congratulations!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ow!

  1. Maria says:

    I know those body pump aches too well- it will be better the more you go :)

  2. Little Bookworm says:

    The raspberry pancakes look lovely too – I made blueberry ones today. :) I know what you mean about the weather – lovely isn’t it? Love Dave’s expression in the photo!

  3. CoCo’s the same way…she especially loves to roll in the mud right after I’ve given her a bath.

  4. Dude 5 year olds DO remember everything you say/promise! It’s so funny!

    I’m ALWAYS sore the day after Body Pump! But it’s a fun reminder of how hard I worked :)

  5. Ouch! Trampolines are a lot of fun, but a bit scary!
    Those pancakes look lovely :-)

  6. Aww thank you so much for that sweet shout out! And yey for the spaghetti squash, I bet it tasted fab with that cheesy sauce!

  7. I know what you mean about soreness after Body Pump. I’m always sore the next day after a lifting routine. That just means we’re building muscle, right?

    The spaghetti squash with cheese sauce looks amazing! I’ll definitely try out that sauce.

    • Good point! I’ll be a lean mean machine soon… :-) hee hee, glad it’s not just me, I thought I must be really unfit!
      And it was so good; try the sauce, you’ll love it!

  8. Pingback: The totally tropical taste | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

