WIAW

Oh yes.

I’ve missed a week but…….

Ya gotta love What I Ate Wednesday, thanks to Jen!

Breakfast (yesterday):

If you take really mushy, almost-overripe raspberries and cover them with plain soya yoghurt, the yoghurt goes pink.

If you’re a child like me, you like that.

You mix it up even more and admire your pink swirly breakfast.

You remind yourself that you’re actually an adult, that you’ve got work to go to and that it’s deadline Tuesday + you’re editing + there’s only you and one other reporter in this week = aargggh.

You stop faffing about and get on and eat it.

Not that I’d know or anything :-)

And work was how I expected: busy+long. So on to…..

Lunch.

I’ve discovered something exciting.

I used to love toast and toasted sandwiches but although there is a toaster at work, I can’t use it because of the risk of contamination from normal bread being used.

But thanks to these, I can:

Toaster bags! You obviously can’t see what’s inside it but believe me, that’s irrelevant… it was toasted. A whole new world of lunching lies before me… :-)

Dinner, very late because I was in the office until silly o’clock waiting for pages to be done so I could read through them, was also quickly-made, quickly-eaten and unphotogenic.

Which you couldn’t say for some of the day’s cherrylicious snackage:

Sweet, dark, juicy and delicious. And all gone :-)

Which might explain a very strange thing that happened last night. One of my unhealthiest eating habits is eating chocolate just before I go to bed every night. And we’re not just talking a nibble of a square either.

But last night, having eaten my dinner and a yoghurt, I went into the kitchen and… didn’t want any chocolate. I tried, hard, but I just couldn’t make myself fancy it. Very, very strange. I intend to try extra hard to have some in a minute instead…

Have you joined in with the WIAW party? I’m going to go and nose at everyone else’s now.

And while we’re spreading the blogging love, Jemma’s having a giveaway of Nakd bars! She’s willing to send anywhere too, bless her, so if you havent entered, get thee over to her great blog Celery and Cupcakes :-)

Happy WIAW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to WIAW

  1. Little Bookworm says:

    Love the yoghurt! I like adding frozen raspberries to hot porridge to end up with the same effect. :)

  2. Good idea! Maybe frozen blueberries too; I’m thinking purple… :-)

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    I have indeed joined the WIAW ‘party:’ it’s one of the highlights of my week (I don’t care how sad that makes me ;) )

    Love the soya yog/fruity swirl. I like swirling in cocoa powder into the Vanilla Alpro myself (quel surprise)

    Hope the work madness calms down soon. And God bless toaster bags (I get mine from Lakeland…how middle-aged of me :P)

    xxx

    • It’s not sad! I love it :-)
      And I love the Alpro plain but vanilla with chocolate sounds perfect.
      I can’t believe I only found the bags recently; I hadn’t had a toasted sandwich for about five years, bliss :-)

  4. Pink breakfast is AWESOME! Mine is often green… thanks to the spinach in my smoothies! haha but they’re so delicious! Happy WIAW!

  5. ahhh cool! so you put your bread in the bag and toast it? and it doesnt burn? i’m fascinated!!! <3 great find!

    Happy WIAW!!!! <3

  6. Toaster bags?? I’ve never heard of these! Need to check them out for sure! :)

  7. Maria says:

    I love smooshing raspberries into things! I had them in porridge the other day. This morning I had blueberries in there (turned it pale purple- very pretty), and the other day I had blackberries. A bit of a berry obsession at the mo.

  8. I’m loving cherries at the moment, fab! I had some pink quinoa last night and got very excited at the pinkness too, glad I’m not the only one ;-)

  9. I love it when my oats/ grain take on the colour of a fruit. They look so pretty! Thank you for the giveaway shout out! :)

  10. Not fancying chocolate? That’s just crazy talk ;-)
    I love making my yoghurt pink – raspberries are great!

  11. Ahhh, I am so craving cherries now! I can’t find them for a decent price anywhere!

  12. lindsay says:

    toaster bags?!?! thats brilliant! we need one. where or where did you get one?

Thank you for commenting!

