WIAW

It’s What I Ate Wednesday Time! And with a cool new button, thanks Jen :-)

And it’s actually what I did eat today, rather than yesterday, which is a first….

I had to go and feed the horses so I had a quick cup of tea and some dried banana chips, cycled up there and back and then got on with breakfast proper, which involved this:

I’ve never bought packet pancake mix before but not only did I get this for next to nothing at the gluten free show, its only ingredients are buckwheat, rice and maize flours and bicarbonate of soda. No electro-magnetic phenoltriplebackflipbenzoate in this stuff :-)

For a fair trial, I followed the directions and mixed 40g of it with 1tbsp egg white, 1tbsp milk and some water…

And topped the pancakes with sliced banana, caramelised in the pan, and sauce made from coconut butter, strawberry jam and Kara coconut milk.

It was delicious but I think that was more down to the toppings. The pancakes were ok but nothing to write home about. The mix won’t go to waste though, as I’ll just use it in another recipe or maybe add ground almonds next time…

I then drove to meet my friend Lisa and we did the Body Balance class she goes to regularly. I’d done it once before and remember thinking beforehand, in my ignorance, that a class of mainly yoga would be “just stretching” and not too taxing.

I was wrong.

But today was even more of a mission! Even Lisa, and the instructor, said afterwards that it had been a “tough one”. So I was pleased with myself for keeping up, even though when I was trying to stretch out my leg at one point and dropped it, I thought I hadn’t said “bugger it” out loud… luckily only Lisa heard me but we got the giggles like a pair of 10-year-olds :-)

I didn’t get back till late afternoon, by which time I was starving. So lunch (rice cakes, Philadelphia, snack a jacks and yoghurt) was done and dusted before I even thought of taking a picture. But it was boring anyway.

Dinner was much more interesting:

I made a frittata, by sauteing leeks and pre-wilted spinach, pouring on 4tbsp egg white and cooking over a low heat. Once it was part-set, I sprinkled grated cheese on top, folded it in half and baked at 180C for about 15 minutes. It was good but the real stars of the show were the vegetable accompaniments…

Somehow, grating instead of chopping the red cabbage not only made the coleslaw look pink and gorgeous, it also tasted better. Weird :-)

And these…

I saw the roasted green bean fries on Jessica’s blog and thought they looked great. And if I was slightly unconvinced by her saying they tasted just like normal chips – I grovel. They are A.Mazing and they taste EXACTLY like chips – you need these in your life, trust me :-)

Random snackage included strawberries, plain soya yoghurt and some crumbled meringue:

Two of these (I’d be lost without yoghurt in my life)

And no doubt there’ll be some chocolate at some point. Probably.

And for a How I Exercised Wednesday, it was 40 minutes’ cycling, the 45-minute Body Balance class, 30-ish minutes’ horse-riding and general yard stuff.

Favourite food DEFINITELY the green beans and favourite exercise was the yoga. It’s amazing how bitchslapping every muscle you’ve got can be so relaxing :-)

Happy WIAW! What’s been your food or exercise highlight today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to WIAW

  1. Jenny says:

    Your pancakes look incredible, I am loving that coconut butter sauce on top. It looks delicious! :D

  2. It’s amazing and it goes on everything… not that I’m addicted to the coconut butter/strawberry jam thang at all :-)
    Thanks for commenting!

  3. That cabbage concoction looks GREAT! Cabbage..carrots.. what else?

  4. lovely eats! Vanilla + dark chocolate yogurt sounds so good!

  5. applesnoats says:

    i roast almost all of my vegetables so I am not wuite sure how I have never tried roasted green beans! I will be promptly testing them out tomorrow thanks to you:)

  6. Hooray for no sketch ingredients in your pancake mix! I like the pamela’s gluten free kind but I actually didnt read the label yet! my mom sent it to me and I totally forgot to scope it ouuut! yikes! off to do that now =)

    Happy WIAW doll! mwah!

    • Hee hee – the only thing is, althought it’s great there’s no added nastiness, it did make me think I could just have used flour and baking powder myself… :-)
      Thank you and thank you for organising it – such a good idea!

  7. Woah those green bean fries look really interesting!!! I’ll have to keep that in mind!

  8. WOW great workouts!!!!!!!! ur green bean fries ROCK!

  9. Got to try the coconut butter and strawberry jam combo on toast sometime soon! I love all things roasted so will have to try the green beans as well :-)

  10. ~Jessica~ says:

    I love Body Balance, but this latest release isn’t my favourite: the crow-esque move in the abs track just seems wrong for me and my body, although I do like the back track.

    Glad to see you’ve got some new wheels and are enjoying your cycling so much. I might have a sniff around for that pancake mix, as I’m far too lazy to make them myself…

    xxx

    • I’m loving the cycling even more on this new bike; it seems like I’m working harder on it, in a really enjoyable way! I know what you mean about the abs bit, although I did enjoy it.
      And try the mix although to be honest, just that amount of any flour would probably work exactly the same! xx

  11. Little Bookworm says:

    The pancakes look great! Recent exercise highlight = yoga! :)

  12. green bean fries? cool!!! i’m soooo making summa those! :-)

  13. Maria says:

    Love the sound of the green bean fries- interesting.
    And the coconut butter/ strawb jam combo.

  14. The pancakes look fabulous even if they weren’t amazing. But I know you’ll adapt them to something fabulous! :)

    Yeesh, sounds like that yoga class was pretty hardcore! Kudos to you for being able to keep up! :)

  15. Mmmmm green bean fries sound so good right now, and it’s only 10 a.m. ;)

  16. lindsay says:

    i love all the colorful veggies. I would eat anything with color, i know weird. So the cabbage slaw would rock my world.

  17. I have never been much into yoga but your mind has intrigued me about it. Asparagus and strawberries are some of my favorite summer foods too. Twinnies!

  18. buckwheat is my favorite grain to use when making pancakes- mmmm that looks good! especially with the SAUCE!! <3

Thank you for commenting!

