Happy Star Wars Day

- May the fourth be with you.

Ahahahahaha.

:-)

I’m always one to jump on a good bandwagon when I see it.

As far as blogging goes, that often means making a desperate grab at its receding tailgate, which is what I’ve done by, finally, doing a What I Ate Wednesday.

I’m so nosey – I’m the sort that’s fascinated by the contents of other people’s shopping trollies – I thought it would be rude not to :-)

It’s actually What I Ate Tuesday. But details, details…

First up, brrrrreakfast. It didn’t end up all over the kitchen, which is an improvement on yesterday:

Spinach, Kara coconut milk, banana and 1tbsp each peanut flour and chia seeds… heaven. With a caramel rice cake (current addiction) and a second breakfast of chcocolate-covered Brazils.

It may be sacrilege to say, and it may not be as healthy as dark, and it may be the case that I’d also happily scoff these nuts’ darker-covered cousins BUT… I prefer milk chocolate :-)

Dinner (there is a reason for doing it this way round):

I made a weird version of Kris’s bean balls, which I saw on Christin’s  blog. I had half a tin of lentils, and I mixed them with peanut flour and pesto.

It’s entirely down to my substitutions, rather than the recipe, that they turned out looking like this:

They didn’t look any better once they were cooked.


But, as the last thing I want is to appear in any way turdist, I ploughed bravely on, with the usual suspects, roast butternut and vegetable Everest and…

They were actually really good! Delicious… and they definitely didn’t taste like poo. Which is always a bonus :-)

Lunch:

I never usually post lunch pictures because it’s pretty much the same thing every day. But in my mind, crusty home-made bread is just crying out to be accompanied by soup.

I don’t eat soup that much either but my favourites are mushroom or leek and potato.
So lacking potato, and wanting to combine the two, I made:

Easy mushroom and leek soup (serves 1)
 
100g+ mushrooms (I used 120g)

About 2 inches leek

1 small spring onion

100ml vegetable stock

35ml milk

1tsp olive oil

1tsp cornflour

1/4 tsp garlic powder (or garlic salt – or one clove garlic, crushed)

2tsp nutritional yeast (optional)

Warm the oil in a non-stick saucepan over a low heat. Finely chop the leeks and onion, put them in the pan (with crushed garlic, if using), stir to coat and then leave, covered to sweat until softened.

Meanwhile, chop the mushrooms finely, add them to the leek and cook over a higher heat, stirring, till they’re browned and softened.

Add the cornflour (then garlic powder/salt, if using) to the mushroom mixture and cook, stirring constantly, while at the same time bringing the milk and stock to the boil in a separate pan.

Add the boiling stock gradually to the mushroom mixture, followed by the nutritional yeast, and bring back to the boil, then turn heat down and simmer, stirring, till it thickens.

Then wield a hand blender, or use a normal blender, to get your desired creaminess factor… loved this!

As a note though, this is a small serving. I had this, the bread and some salt and vinegar Snack A Jack rice cakes for lunch, followed by a yoghurt, so if you were only having this and bread, you’d probably want double.

And talking of yoghurts, it was one of these (I also had one after dinner)

I don’t think I’ve ever explained just how addicted I am to these. They may be low fat but they’re the creamiest, vanilla-iest, chocolatiest, deliciousest yoghurts EVER!

I think I probably get through my own weight in them every year month.

And, just mentioning, if Mr Mullerlight should want to offer me a year’s supply, I’d bite his hand off to get to them be pleased to consider it.

Or, if he announced plans to bring out a coconut or chocolate-sprinkled coconut version, and wanted me to be an official tester, I’d be in seventh heaven maybe think about agreeing…

so, with the addition of an apple and the copious amounts of chocolate raisins soon to be scoffed, that’s it!

What looks the best? What’s the best (or worst) thing you’ve eaten today?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Happy Star Wars Day

  1. Ooh that homemade bread looks fabulous! I love homemade bread so much. :)

    Oh, and May the 4th be with you as well ;)

  2. 1. I read the first few lines of your post aloud to my husband while he drove us home from our trip today.

    2. we cracked up =)

    3. I need that shroom and leek soup to appear infront of me. now. thank you so so much for the recipe =) its so bookmarked!

    HAPPY WAIW!!!!!

  3. lindsay says:

    i need to try these bean balls! they sound soo yummy. I saw them on Kris’ blog too. And brazil nuts? those are my favorite!

  4. applesnoats says:

    you are too funny!
    i must say i am incredibly jealous of your yogurt…my grocery store needs to pick up the slack!

  5. oo that soup looks the best!!! i loveeee crusty bread!

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    It’s a tie between the soup and the smoothie for best thing eaten: I must be an old lady really as I could live on blended things ;)

    xxx

  7. Me too! Give me any meal and I’ll blend it these days… :-)

  8. I think the best thing that I ate today had to be this mornings green smoothie…I adore those things! :D

  9. that soup looks sooooo so good! I am a recently converted mushroom lover and I cannot wait to make that!

  10. That yogurt looks so good! I bought chocolate yogurt recently, and it was just alright… your kind looks much better!

  11. Pingback: Getting older! | Eating like a horse

  12. So glad you shared this link! Progresso makes a mushroom soup I really like, but this one looks even more delicious. Thank you!

  13. Pingback: Happy birthday to me! | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: A few good things | Eating like a horse

  15. Pingback: No thank you | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

