Grrr…

Today was going so well…

I knew this week would be a bit of a mission as I’m editing and have got at least one evening job but Mondays are usually ok.

I managed to get quite a lot done and as I wandered down the hill to where I’d parked, after work, I was just thinking vague but happy thoughts about what a lovely warm day it had been, how nice the harbour arm looked in the last of the sun and how good it was there was sun still, at 6.45pm. Then, I got to my car…

I’ve said before that my car is unique. One of its entertaining quirks is that the beeper that’s supposed to go off if you leave the lights on sometimes works – but sometimes doesn’t – and today it didn’t. And the battery was as flat as a pancake :-(

Luckily, a nice man nearby had some jump leads and my boss drove his car down to provide the power but as I tried to open the bonnet, which has been sticking lately, the lever came off in my hand.

Bonnet finally open, some power was obviously getting through and something started working. But what was it? The lights? The central locking? The engine itself?

The alarm.

There it was, not starting but with hazards flashing and siren wailing and, because my boss had had to park so close, I had to get in the passenger side and mountaineer over to get the fecking thing to shut up. Dear lord.

So it wasn’t exactly an early, relaxed homecoming. :-)

Which is why I was grateful I made two lots of the stroganoff yesterday:

With a few more veg, it was ready in minutes – and it tasted just as good as it did yesterday. And the day before that :-)

I also have to thank Carrie of Movesnmunchies, for another great Staple Sunday post yesterday. Thanks to that, I found my way to this vegan French toast recipe, made by Virginia at Eat. Run. Do Yoga.

I had a peanut flour version of the coconut bread and was going to make a pb/banana sandwich out of it for today – so that recipe came just at the right time. I won’t be making French toast, or anything as time-consuming, on a work morning in future (I think my boss would approve!) but was it worth it?

Even with my rubbish presentation and photography skills, I think this picture answers that…

It was good enough to warrant taking another one…

No, make that two more…

Wow. I don’t think I need to say any more :-)

But I definitely can’t take that long on a weekday morning! Back to making breakfast the night before…

Do you make breakfast the night before – or do you leave enough time in the mornings? I’d like to do it in the mornings but I get up at 6am anyway so that ain’t going to happen :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Grrr…

  1. ah im so sorry about your car- thats annoying! YAY! so happy you made that french toast recipe :D :D.. i usually make my oats the night before! then i just have to heat them up and add my stir ins in the morning!

  2. Coffee&Claptrap says:

    Oh no! It seems a few of us are having car troubles this past week, bloody things!

    Those pancakes look yummy, I really need to get in on this weekend pancake action!

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    Sorry about the car! That French toast sounds great. I like to make breakfast in the mornings but sometimes I make overnight breakfasts, like Overnight Oats or Breakfast Cookies. :)

  4. Somehow I manage to make my breakfast in the morning, but I never have as much time as I would like. Urgh – 6am is a horrid time of day – that’s when I get up too.

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Your poor car…at least you made it home in the end and had a lovely meal waiting for you :)

    Unless I’m doing overnight oats or soaking muesli, I always ‘make’ breakfast the morning I’m having it. But my breakfasts are very simple and nowhere near as intricate as yours ~ it’s just a case of bunging stuff in a blender or microwave most of the time.

    xxx

  6. Cars sure know how to turn a day around. One tiny things always seems to snowball into it slipping out like that!

    As for breakfast, it depends on what I’m making. If it’s oatmeal, I cook it the night before and heat it the next morning. Everything else I just throw together right before eating.

  7. Too bad about your car! I have totally been there…batteries dying, horn getting STUCK in the “on” position, battery dying again…
    Glad you had something tasty at home to make it all better :)

  8. Yum! I usually make breakfast in the morning. I get up at 6 sometimes earlier depending on when my daughter wakes up so I eat earlier than most people haha

  9. Nightmare with the car! I tend to try and get up early so I can make time to really enjoy the ritual of making and eating breakfast – its my favorite meal of the day and I hate it when its rushed!

  10. Sorry about your car :( My car has it’s quirks as well- it doesn’t like to go in reverse at the most inopportune times. It can be really scary!

  11. Maria says:

    Oh poor you!
    I make mine the night before- I put the oats and milk (and any add ins) in a bowl the night before, leave in the fridge and then cook in the microwave in the morning- takes 2 mins and I empty the dishwasher while it cooks :)

    • Emptying the dishwasher too?!
      I haven’t got a dishwasher but when I used to live at home, emptying it was my least favourite job ever! But I’m like you; can never just sit there and wait, I have to be doing something!

  12. Pingback: The light fantastic | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

