Daffodils and coconut

What do you mean, daffodils and coconut don’t go together? Surely when you see these:

This is the first thing that comes to mind…?

No??

Coconut and daffodils are just two of the small-but-random things that have made me happy in the last couple of days :-)

I saw the year’s first daffodils flowering on my way to the yard yesterday morning. I was so childishly excited by them, it actually woke me out of my standard 7am sleep-cycling and I enjoyed the rest of the ride so much more…

Not long, only six more days till March – nearly there!

And as for coconut, it’s been this in particular:

LOOOOVE this stuff!

I know it’s only the top of coconut milk, sold separately but its creamy coconutty goodness is so versatile… it’s quite happy dolloped on porridge:

Plastered on banana bread:

And blobbed on banana cake:

I used some of it to make the cake and the only downfall of it is, once you’ve opened the tin, you have to eat it pretty quick as it doesn’t keep long… sorry, did I say downfall?! Weird….

I also happened to spot this lovely-looking recipe for coconut muffins at the same time…

I made half quantities, using 40g each of coconut and brown bread flour, Kara coconut for the milk, coconut extract instead of vanilla and a flax egg. I used 2tbsp extra milk, as Lauren said the coconut flour could make them a bit dry, subbed coconut cream for the oil and butter and left out the sugar because I wanted bread-ish rolls rather than muffins…

For that reason, I also made free-form “shapes” rather than filling muffin tins, which meant I only needed to bake for about 25 minutes… and they’re so good, I might need to make more tomorrow.

Seriously, Lauren is a genius! The texture of these is better probably than any GF bread I’ve made or bought and the flavour is out of this world – I spread jam on top as standard but I think they’d almost be better without :-)

Cue gratuitous “going back to their roots innit” shot:

 – and some more random goodness :-)

Hooray for coconut!

I may not have used all of the above in the muffins… but I couldn’t take a picture of coconut bliss and leave out the oil and the dessicated stuff could I?!

I think one of those muffin/rolls will do perfectly for breakfast tomorrow too, or maybe the remaining two … :-)

Question of the day, what did you have for breakfast? (Katie asked this yesterday and I’m so nosey, I loved reading everyone’s answers, so I thought I’d ask it again!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Daffodils and coconut

  1. Such pretty daffodils! They make me smile. :)

  2. Oh my gosh!!! Gah, you are so awesome! I love what you did with the recipe and I am so happy that they came out well. And on top of all that, Im glad I found your blog!

  3. I had my old favourite banana porridge with a dollop of peanut butter mixed in for breakfast this morning :-)
    I’m only just starting to eat coconut – I always thought I didn’t like it. I think I was swayed my the horrible-ness of Bounty bars (yuck!). The coconut cream sounds versatile, but not sure I could manage a whole tin quickly.

    • I never used to be that sold on coconut either, weirdly! But I love it in (almost) everything now :-)
      The picture’s probably misleading of that tin; it’s only a mini one, about two and a bit inches tall…

  4. Little Bookworm says:

    Never knew they sold coconut cream in a can! For breakfast today I had apple and sultana porridge. :)

  5. I had a smoothie with a black bean brownie for breakfast :) I’m not a huge coconut fan, actually. The only way I’ve had it and enjoyed it is in granola!

  6. I had the usual breakfast- porridge with some added raisins and cinnamon today- was scrumptious :)
    I did not know you could get the coconut cream on its own.

    • How have I never had porridge with raisins?? The cream’s brilliant, Waitrose sells it in those little tins and they even do a “basics” version of it which is cheaper – they didn’t have that last time I went but this normal one isn’t much more expensive :-)

  7. Breakfast was in two parts… Amazing Meal mixed in coconut water and then cereal in an empty peanut butter jar! :)

  8. I love!! love!! love!! COCONUT! I like putting coconut extract in my Green monsters! Mm!!

  9. I really need to hop on the coconut boat- so many delicious recipes and eats!

  10. your free-form coconut shapes look amazing!
    Anything coconut makes me happy :)

  11. Those scones look fab! This morning I had apple and cranberry hot cereal with coconut milk and almond butter, it was fab!

  12. wow this is coconut filled post! I had sun warrior oats with DCD and apricot preserves!

  13. Casey says:

    I had two pieces of Apple Cinnamon Struesal Bread.
    Not homemade, but it was local!
    I need to try those scones soon.

  14. sophia says:

    I had MANGO!!!!!…..gummies. Mango gummies. With Godiva chocolate truffle coffee. And some nachos.

    I’m not much of a conventional breakfast person! ;-)

  15. So much coconut, I want it all! That bread looks so good!

    My breakfast was rushed so luckily I had some puffed amaranth cereal ready for me.

  16. Pingback: Plum crazy | Eating like a horse

  17. Pingback: Birthday porridge | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

