Snow joke

Remember the challenge?

But before I explain it, it wouldn’t be right not to post at least one snow picture…

Or maybe two…

My trusty Golf did make it up to the yard today – although there were a few hairy moments coming back! I cycled up in the evening, thinking that, if I was going to end up in a ditch, I’d rather be on the bike than in the car. Luckily, I didn’t :-)

But I had time on my hands today and cookies to make!

I looked around for the best recipes, got an idea, went to the fridge and – no butter. I did have coconut oil though so, with a few modifications, I got mixing…

Makes about 25 little cookies

Preheat oven to 190C and take:

110g sugar (I used half caster, half light brown)

125g flour

6tbsp coconut oil

1 egg

1tbsp + 1tsp cocoa powder

About 120g chocolate chips (I used a mixture of milk, dark and white)

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

Mix the oil and sugar together till really well blended, add the egg, salt and vanilla and mix again. Sieve the flour, baking powder and cocoa over and mix well, then fold in chocolate chips.

Drop tablespoons of batter on to a lined sheet and bake for about 15 minutes.

Apart from the fact these are made from coconut oil instead of butter (And I used a mix of brown rice flour and GF brown bread blend flour) these aren’t “healthy” at all… but they’re crispy, chewy and chocolatey and that makes up for it :-)

I was quite impressed I managed to let them cool before I inhaled one – and even more impressed that I stopped at one!

And as to whether or not the chocolate-loving boys in the office think they compare to the ones they were talking about… I’ll have to let you know.

But I’m hoping the gritters get out tonight because if not, I doubt I’ll be getting to work tomorrow – and I doubt my self-control would last a day of being snowed in all day with these :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Snow joke

  1. i LOVE milk chocolate chips… not a fan of pure milk chocolate but for some reason when melted in a cookie, it is SO much better!

  2. Good call on the coconut oil! I’m going to have to experiment with that in cookies!

    • It gave them a really good texture; I think I’ll have to do more of it too! One thing though, one of the boys at work, who says he doesn’t like coconut, said he could taste it although he still liked them! If there was someone who really didn’t like it, it might be best not to use it…
      I found a really good site on substituting oil for butter – but now can’t find it! But basically, just use about 3/4 the volume of oil as you would butter :-)

  3. Little Bookworm says:

    The cookies look great! Hope the snow clears up soon! :)

  4. Yes chocolate should be all melty- I cannot stand it when people put chocolate in the fridge- it is not right! :)
    They look delish

  5. Pingback: About time too! | Eating like a horse

  6. Pingback: I diiiiid it! | Eating like a horse

  7. Pingback: Bring me sunshine | Eating like a horse

  8. Pingback: Guest Post: Eleanor from Eating like a horse « Beans Books and Cookies

  9. Pingback: Baking bonanza | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

