Congratulations

This might sound really cheesy but one of the things I love about blogging is the community and the way people become friends through it.

Given, for example, that I live in mid-Kent, 4,000-ish miles away, it’s not likely I’ll ever bump into Heather (of Heather Eats Almond Butter) but, like many people, I’ve read her blog during her pregnancy and was delighted when she gave birth to her gorgeous daughter Summer Juliet last week.

So when Katie (another lovely blogger I’m unlikely to meet) came up with the idea of a “virtual baby shower“, I was well up for it. The idea was to come up with a recipe Heather would like, make it and send the picture to Katie, so Heather could see them all together.

I thought it was a brilliant idea so…

Ok, so that’s not quite the finished article…!

I know Heather loves her oat bran and, as I’ve been loving baked whole oats recently, I thought I’d try something along those lines.

I took:

40g oat bran

3tbsp pumpkin

1tbsp egg white

Splash of vanilla

Pinch of baking powder (teacher’s note: Eleanor must learn to be much more specific :-) )

Mixed it together and shaped it. As Katie said, Heather’s got a really generous heart so…

(Is it really sad that I’m quite proud of that heart shape?!)

I put it into the grill, preheated at 190C, and left it for about 15 minutes. When I first made the oat version (the same weight of oats but with apple puree instead of the pumpkin – delicious!) I baked it but I prefer the chewy/crispiness the grill gives it.

So… when it came out, it looked great. (although possibly no different to when it went in!)

 

But, of course, it needed TOPPINGS! I was going to melt dark chocolate chips with coconut butter, as I know Heather loves chocolate coconut butter – and I can just about force it down :-)

But there was only one thing for it, it had to be almond butter really, didn’t it? I mixed 2tsp with 2tsp milk and a drizzle of maple syrup while a sliced half-banana was sizzling away under the grill. Not to waste the chocolate chips, I put them into the banana…

Yummmmmmmm…..! It’s just a shame Heather won’t be able to eat all people’s recipes herself! But I don’t think she’d appreciate it if I sent this to her somehow…

Delicious. Congratulations again Heather and CD and thank you Katie for the idea!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Congratulations

  1. :)
    Added to the shower post. You’re so sweet.

  2. That is SUCH a cute idea! And such a cute cookie, looks delicious.. mmm, gooey! :D
    xxx

  3. Sorry just now reading this, but um yes, I think I would appreciate it if you sent it to me. Just overnight it – I’m sure it wouldn’t cost much. ;)

    Hehe, no but seriously, it looked delicious, and I love the idea of grilling the oat cake – brilliant, and the heart shape was quite impressive.

    Thank you so much. This post made me feel so loved.

    • Ha ha, no problem! check out your post box tomorrow :-)
      The grilling gave it a lovely texture; thanks for reminding me… I haven’t had one of these since this one!

      And that’s a pleasure; I’m so glad you liked it :-)

Thank you for commenting!

